Nama Nageswara Rao sets a new record

 Telangana | Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Sat, May 25, 2019, 11:48 AM

Although many thought that there would be a neck-and-neck fight between the top two MP candidates, Nama Nageswara Rao of Telangana Rashtra Samithi and Renuka Chowdhury of Congress, and the winner would bag the seat with wafer-thin majority, the results declared on Thursday proved them wrong. Nama secured the seat once again by a record breaking majority of 1,67,613 votes over his nearest opponent, Renuka Chowdhury.

Earlier in 2009, when Nama contested the seat on Telugu Desam Party ticket, he won over the firebrand Congress leader with a majority of 1,24,448 votes. This time too, Nama broke his own record and proved that his charisma still prevails in the Khammam district.

It may be recalled that no leader till now was able to secure a majority of that grade against his opponents in the history of Khammam Parliamentary segment. In 1967 Lok Sabha elections, Thella Lakshmi Kanthamma created a record by winning with a majority of 1,11,338 votes against CPM candidate MKE Rao.

Nobody broke her record till the Parliamentary elections held in 2009 when Nama won the seat with a majority of 1,24,448 votes. According to political analysts, the Telangana sentiment and TRS chief K Chandrashekar Rao's special focus on Khammam district after the Assembly poll debacle besides Nama's hard work have helped him secure the seat with a huge majority.